The secret to happiness

Do you know how the people who have fulfilled their dreams look at life? Don’t dismiss me on the grounds that this might sound arrogant, just bear with me for a minute.

I was looking at pictures of my friends on Facebook. Some of them are engaged, some are even married with children! And we’re all just 21 years old! At first, for an overachiever like me, who cannot imagine living without attaining her goals, it seemed like ‘settling’. And that is something that I never wanted to do. To settle for the easy way out, a comfortable job, no high demands, no struggling. If at this age I was married with children, probably back in my hometown, I would consider myself a failure.

But then I realized, while looking at my friends’ pictures, that failing or fulfilling one’s dream is in the eye of the beholder. There are many who find fulfillment in building a family first, and then proceeding to build a career and so on. Then there are the ones like me, restless and impatient, constantly looking for a challenge, who from an early age have only dreamt of conquering the world. SO who are we to judge?

There is no one definition of happiness. The secret is to find your own path and pursue it. Be happy with who you are and where you are right now. Because it’s you who made the choices that brought you here. No matter what social norms tell you.

Live your dream! Be happy!

Till dawn,

Tokyo Gaijin

IMG_0616

Leave a comment