Yokohama & China town (横浜と中華街)

I had the most amazing time on Sunday! I’ve been meaning to post about it but I’ve been so busy recently. Spring is really starting to make its presence known in the city and within our hearts. The cherry trees are blooming, the flowers shower us with their alluring scent and our hearts are reborn together with all of nature. In this all encompassing scenery of delight, me and Alex decided to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo and hopped on the first train to Yokohama (if you take the express it’s roughly 25 minutes!!).

ImageImage

Image

It’s a kind of Snoopy face 🙂

We’ve been meaning to visit it for a while, especially the Chinese town because it’s very famous. And so did other 34475454588 people, because what else is there to do on a Sunday?!

Image

I for one am not much of a crowd lover, especially since I’ve been living in Tokyo. So we quickly made our way through the streets dominated by noodles and chestnuts scent (very peculiar combo of smells), grabbed a traditional Chinese lunch, and went to the port.

Image

This is where the whole scene changed. The gentle breeze caressed us as we walked along the seafront, admiring all the ships docked in the port.

ImageImage

Yokohama bay has a different vibe; a pleasant warm fuzzy feeling fills you up instantly when you get there, it’s like you’re suddenly on vacation. There are bridges along the shore from where you can gaze far across the port and see the horizon embracing the ocean.

IMG_2237  IMG_2234

I was very happy to be there, I think that from now on I’ll make Yokohama my getaway place. I recommend it to everyone who lives in Tokyo!

Image

Till dawn,

Tokyo Gaijin

Leave a comment